RSS Feed

Sugar Free Raspberry Dessert

plant 001

I bought raspberries last week for the first time ever at Aldi.  I have noticed fresh raspberries have become more prevalent in our state in the last few years.  Growing up in the South, I thought raspberries were only eaten by people out there and I think I am referring to people who lived in California or maybe even Florida.  The only time I ever tasted raspberries was in the wonderful Krispy Kreme jelly filled donuts.  I discovered at that time that I loved the flavor of the raspberry.

This is how I prepared the dessert:

1 12 ounce package of frozen raspberries or 2 cups of fresh raspberries

1/2 cup of Splenda Baking Sugar Substitute

1 pkg of Jello Sugar Free Cheesecake Pudding and 1 and 1/2 cups of milk to prepare the pudding

1/4 teaspoon of almond extract

1/2 cup of pecans  toasted

1 small container of whipping cream

1/2 teaspoon of vanilla

2 tablespoons of regular Splenda

I thawed my strawberries and sweetened them with 1/2 cup of Splenda baking sugar substitute

I prepared the cheesecake pudding as directed on the package but I only used one and one half cups of milk.  After beating the mix into the milk for about 2 minutes, I added 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract.  This seems to make the cheesecake pudding a little richer.

I whipped the whipping cream with a handheld mixer, adding 2 tablespoons of regular Splenda.  When stiff peaks were formed, I added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla.

I roasted the pecans in the oven to give them a little extra crunch and to increase the depth of flavor. (to roast the pecans, place on cookie sheet in 350 degree oven for about 5 to 10 minutes)

plant 009

We were visiting friends for lunch so I carried the ingredients to their house in storage containers along with my four glass dishes.  This is how I assembled it.
I put the cheesecake pudding in the bottom of the dish – The second layer was the sweetened raspberries.  I topped the dishes off with the whipping cream.  I garnished the dishes with the toasted pecans.

I have learned to whip the whipping cream in an aluminum mixing bowl and keep it in the bowl until it is served and it will stay colder.  That is something I learned from watching Ina Garten.  I also love my glass dishes you see in the picture.  My grandmother loved glass dishes and I think I learned to love them from her.  They just seem to make any dish seem extra special.

We enjoyed the dessert and it was a great ending to a very good meal.  I am thankful to have friends that are adventurous and not afraid to try new dishes.

Happy Monday Everyone

3 responses »

  1. I’m sure your friends enjoyed the dessert that you prepared for them…it sounds good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

