RSS Feed

Biscuits and Molasses – So Easy – So Southern – So Good

When we got up on Saturday Morning, we realized we had no bread for toast.  I realized we had biscuits in the freezer and told my husband that was our only option.  We do not eat biscuits on a regular basis but keep some in the freezer for emergencies.  I remembered seeing my molasses in the pantry earlier in the week and immediately thought of how good fresh hot biscuits are with molasses.  That was a staple in our house when I was growing up because my Daddy loved molasses.  He would go to the mountains and look for molasses from the locals.  For my tastes, I have always loved Grandma’s brand molasses.

Here is how you make them.  You can, of course, make your biscuits from scratch but I have used been using the Pillsbury frozen biscuits for years with great results.

Bake the biscuits according to package directions.

You will need molasses and my favorite brand is Grandma’s.

You will also need margarine and I use a spreadable margarine such as, “I can’t believe it is not butters.

Take the baked biscuit and split it open.  Butter it lightly on both sides. Mix the molasses with additional butter or margarine.  Spread this mixture on the biscuits and enjoy.

I have to admit that the molasses combination looks a little strange but the taste of it is just delicious. There have been dishes that I knew I had to serve just because it is expected of a Southern woman. However, the tradition I am sharing today is something I learned from sitting down to eat with my Daddy and following his example.  I never eat this combination without thinking of him and how much I miss him.

Happy Monday Everyone and enjoy those biscuits.

13 responses »

  1. You have brought back some memories. When I was a child we raised our own sugarcane and made our own molasses. I remember the sweet cane juice cooking for hours until it became that beautiful golden brown and could not wait for the bread to finished baking in the wood stove so we could slather it on the bread, mixed with fresh churned butter. Those were the days!!

    Reply
    • Awe sweet story, we gunna have to try that in the future! Glad you have such find memories of your dad, I have fond memories of my daddy as well!

      Reply
    • WOW! Thanks for sharing such great memories. I have attended festivals where molasses was being made and the smell is wonderful; however, you are the first person I have ever heard of that raised your own sugar cane. I do remember hearing how good bread is that is baked in a wood stove and I slather my bread too!!

      Reply
      • Yes, I grew up in the country in a small German Village and we only had occasional electricity. did not enter a grocery store until I was 15, remember seeing macaroni and asking my Mom what bush it grew on??!!! We never had an electric or gas stove……….gas…………what the hell is that!!!!!! We raised 40 acres of vegetables that we canned and kept for the Winter’s….it was a very interesting life……..a life in a vacuum, isolated from the world……this was South Texas and no I am not Amish, just a group of lost Germans.

      • Thanks for sharing this and I think it is so interesting. There are many Germans in my area of North Carolina and I guess they got lost too. Maybe you should writea book. Someday, I will share my story on my blog of my experience in a German restaurant in Hilton Head Island, SC. It is just toooooo funny!

        ________________________________

  2. This sounds really good, I bet the butter cuts through some of the bite from the molasses. I’m hungry!

    Reply
  3. I’ll take your biscuits over toast any day.

    Reply
  4. Yum! You really did bring back some memories today. Daddy always liked the taste of something sweet after he ate a meal. I have sat down many times and eaten this on just a regular piece of loaf bread, but you are right, it is delicious on a nice, warm biscuit! Yum! I still miss him too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

