RSS Feed

A Repeat But A True Southern Tradition – Deviled Eggs

If you asked me what is the one item you would need to prepare that is a Southern tradition at Easter, I would say Deviled Eggs

As I was preparing this post, I started looking through my cookbooks for Deviled Egg recipes and I did find some but there aren’t the traditional ones that have been served in the South for years and years.  I did see recipes for Deviled Eggs with cheese sauce, Deviled Eggs with Salmon or Mexican Deviled Eggs.  I love to try new and different things and I am not saying anything is wrong with those recipes. However, if you want to serve traditional Southern Deviled Eggs, I am sharing my recipe with you again and it is the first recipe listed below that I have published previously.

The second recipe is a recipe I found in my 1982 edition of Southern Living Annual Recipes and it is very similar to mine.  Both recipes remind me of the covered dish meals, the special holiday meals and picnics in the South and how popular Deviled Eggs are for all of those special occasions.

Deviled Eggs

9 Hard Boiled Eggs – Most devil egg plates come with a space for 12 halves of eggs so I boil extra just in case I can’t get one of my eggs to peel correctly

1 and 1/2 teaspoons of vinegar

1 tablespoon mustard

2 to 3 tablespoons of mayo

1 tablespoon of sour cream

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1/4 teaspoon of pepper

Cook, cool and peel hard boiled eggs.  Cut in half lengthwise and scoop out the yolk (yellow) of the egg.  Mix the mashed yellow of the egg with the above ingredients and put them back in the white reserved egg halves.

I usually use a fork to stuff the yellow back into the white of the egg.  I then smooth it with a knife.

The deviled eggs are tastier if you chill them in the fridge for four to eight hours before serving.

If you are asking how to prepare hard cooked eggs, this is the process I use and it works every time.

Place eggs in pan and cover with cold water.

Bring water to a rolling boil; immediately turn off heat.  (don’t let the eggs continue to boil and I usually set them off the hot burner)

Let eggs stand in hot water for 14 minutes if small or 17 minutes if extra large

drain eggs and cool in ice water.  I have learned to peel the eggs quickly when they are cool.  If you start at the rounded top of the egg and break that membrane the eggs will peel smoothly.  If you are having difficulty, make a small break in the membrane and continue to dip them in the cooled water.

The recipe below is from the Southern Living Annual Recipes of 1982:

deviled eggs

 

Leave a Reply

