RSS Feed

Brunch – A New Idea For This Southerner

Growing up in the South, brunch was not a word that I was familiar with.  In fact, it has only become a more common term in the last few years. I do believe the first time I was exposed to it was during one of my Hilton Head Island visits.  When I became and Ina Garten fan, I realized that she made brunch on a consistent basis.  Usually, Dale and I spend our holidays alone together and a few years ago I decided we would have brunch for Easter.  I read through Ina’s cookbooks and was thoroughly convinced I could make brunch.  Ina just makes things seem so easy.

I have to be honest with you and let you know that I am not the member of this family that prepares breakfast.  My husband is the breakfast whiz and I realized this one day when a male co-worker asked me how I made scrambled eggs.  Oopsie!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I don’t fry eggs.  I only know how to make egg salad and deviled eggs from boiled eggs.  My husband is the person that prepares the eggs for breakfast.

With all of that in mind, I made Ina’s French Country Omelet from her Back to Basics cookbook and I was successful.  When I make this omelet, I serve it with fresh fruit and yogurt topping.  I also serve some type of sweet bread.  All of this came from Ina’s cookbook but during the process, I realized that I love to make brunch.

As I HAD TO VISIT CHARLESTON SC for Easter (just kidding), I did not prepare Easter brunch and have been thinking about that wonderful country omelet.  I decided that I would prepare brunch tomorrow.  To make it even more special, we have invited another couple to join us. We haven’t seen them since before Easter and are looking forward to the visit and sharing a special meal with them.

Here is Ina’s recipe for the country french omelet and believe me, if I can make it, anybody can make it.

Leave a Reply

