RSS Feed

An Easy Fruit Pie Dessert

This Sunday in the US, we celebrate Mother’s Day and honor all of our Mothers.  I wanted to feature one of my Mother’s recipes.  I have shared several of them on my blog and continued to rack my brain to see which one was appropriate.  I thought back to my younger days when I was in high school and I would keep the house clean in the summer and prepare some part of our evening meal.  The easy fruit pie I am sharing with you today is one of the things I learned to cook at that time.  As it turns out, it is also one of my husband’s favorites too.  I remember how I was overwhelmed with the idea of baking a pie and my Mother insisted I could do it because it was super easy.  I do remember how confident I became after I made this pie a few times and wanted to make it everyday.  That would have pleased my Daddy because he was a sweet freak.

If you have never made a pie, this is a good place to start. It is easy to remember because the ingredients are so simple. The picture below shows the pie made with peaches.

peach pie 004

Easy Fruit Pie

1 cup of sugar

1 cup of self rising flour

1 cup of milk

1 stick of margarine or butter

1 large can of fruit, drained   (any kind of fruit works and you can use fresh fruit if you sweeten it first with sugar)

Preheat the oven at 350 degrees

As the oven is preheating, place the stick of margarine or butter in a 9 inch ovenproof pie pan and melt it in the oven.

Remove from the oven and add the sugar, self rising flour and milk and stir well.

Spread the drained fruit evenly over the top of the other ingredients in the pan.

Bake in the oven for about an hour or until brown.

This dessert is so good as all of the juices from the fruit run together with the other ingredients.  Served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, it would be a great dessert for a special day or any day!

Leave a Reply

