RSS Feed

My Mother’s Potato Salad

As Mother’s Day is Sunday here in the US, I wanted to feature another recipe from my Mother.  My Mother loved to bake and I have shared her recipes on my blog before and most of the recipes include cakes (red velvet cake or chocolate pound cake) and sweet potato casserole.  However, today I wanted to feature something a little different.  I have never seen anyone make potato salad the way my Mother did.  When I grew up and moved away from home and people talked about boiling potatoes for potato salad and then peeling them and cutting them into cubes, I was clueless.  My Mother always creamed her potatoes for her potato salad.  Here is how I remember that she made it:

Mothers Potato Salad

6 medium size potatoes ( I do not know whether she added any seasoning to the potatoes)

1/4 to 1/2 cup of sweet pickle cubes

1/4 tp 1/2 cup of chopped onion

Hard boiled egg diced

Salt and Pepper to taste

Peel and cut the potatoes into pieces.  Cook them in a saucepan on the stove until done.  Cook one or two eggs until hard boiled.

Cream the potatoes as if you are making creamed potatoes.  Add all the other ingredients.

Place the potatoes in a pretty glass dish, lined with lettuce leaves.  Garnish with sliced hard boiled egg.

I do not remember this being served cold but I do remember how much I loved eating it.

I stated earlier that I had never seen anyone else make potato salad this way.  That isn’t exactly true.  I have been going to our family reunion in South Carolina near where my mother grew up in the Lancaster area.  I always see potato salad made the way my Mother prepared it and it tastes almost exactly the same way I remembered it.  That just makes me think that is the traditional way Potato Salad is made in that area of the state and that is where my Mother learned to make it.

Happy Weekend Everyone and Happy Mother’s Day Too!

3 responses »

  1. Your mother’s potato salad is very different with no mayo or oil…perfect for hot summer days.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Springtime, Mother’s Day and Potato Salad Go Together | So Does That Mean I'm SOUTHERN?

Leave a Reply

