RSS Feed

Potatoes and Onions – A Wonderful Side Dish For Steak

Yesterday, we celebrated Mother’s Day at home.  I love the way my husband prepares a steak and I made the side dishes. I made a salad using one of my favorite ingredients, arugula.  I decided I wanted to have potatoes too but a baked potato did not interest me.  I love roasted potatoes on the grill and as we had some Yukon Gold Potatoes I decided that is what I wanted.  I have roasted potatoes in the oven before with olive oil and dehydrated onion soup mix.  So I got the idea that maybe I could adjust that recipe to the grill.

Here is how I made them:

About 8 ounces of yukon gold potatoes (our potatoes were very small so I cut them in half or quartered them)

About a tablespoon of olive oil

1 teaspoon of salt

1/2 teaspoon of ground pepper

1 teaspoon of garlic powder

I cut the potatoes up and added the olive oil and stirred them until completely moistened.  I then seasoned them with the salt, pepper and garlic powder.  My husband put them on the grill in his vegetable roasting pan.

I used one half of a medium-sized Vidalia onion and gave it a rough chop.  When the potatoes were almost done, my husband added the onion to the mixture until it was translucent.

This is how they looked:

potatoes and onions 003

They were so good and a great compliment to the steak.  I plan to use this idea many times over the summer months because it is so easy and believe me it was SO TASTY!

2 responses »

  1. We will be in Maine soon for the summer and I’ll start grilling. Your potatoes sound great.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

