RSS Feed

A Yard Sale Find and a Marinated Vegetable Recipe

My husband and I love to go to yard sales.  I have found many cookbooks at yard sales in the past but this year I am being just a little more discretionary in my purchases.  I attended a church yard sale on Saturday and they had lots of cookbooks.  I only found one that interested me.  It is the Southern Junion League Cookbook published in 1977 and features recipes from Junior League members in different cities of the South.  This is the title page of the book:

junior league cookbook

I will continue to share recipes from the book this week but today, I am sharing a Marinated Vegetable Salad.  Last Sunday, we attended a Homecoming event at a church and I ate a marinated salad that was so good and different.  I do remember eating that before but very rarely.  When I found the Junior League Cookbook which I purchased for a whopping 50 cents, I looked through the vegetable salads and found one that sounds so similar.  I do intend to make this for Sunday dinner.

Marinated Vegetable Salad

1 16 ounce can tiny green peas

1 12 ounce can tiny white shoepeg corn (small-kernel white corn)

1 16 ounce can French style green beans

1 medium size onion chopped

3/4 cup finely chopped celery

chopped pimento to taste

Drain canned vegetables and combine with onion, celery and pimento.

Sweet and Sour Dressing:

1/2 cup salad oil

1/2 cup wine vinegar

3/4 cup sugar

1 teaspoon sald

1/2 teaspoon pepper

Combine all ingredients thoroughly and heat to boiling.  When cool add to the vegetables, tossing well.

The salad should be prepared a day ahead.  It will keep in the refrigerator for several weeks.  Yield  8 to 10 servings

Submitted by the Of Pots and Pipkins – The Junior League opf Roanoke Valley, Virginia

I absolutely love this cookbook and I can’t wait to share more recipes from the book in future posts.  There are so many unusual recipes from all areas of the South.

2 responses »

  1. what a great yard sale find!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

