RSS Feed

My Favorite Sourdough Bread Recipe

After writing about the Herman Friendship Cake on Monday, I decided I would share my favorite Sourdough bread recipe.  This process became popular in the 80’s and it is the only recipe I have ever used to make delicious homemade bread.  I wasn’t a very good bread baker until I started using this recipe.  I kept my starter for about five years and it was very seasoned to say the least.

I know as you read the recipe you may think it is very complicated but if you take it one step at a time, it really doesn’t take that much time.  It is well worth the effort to make this bread if for no other reason than the wonderful smell of the bread baking in your oven. This recipe will make two loaves in a standard size pan or approximately 24 rolls.

sourdough bread

You can also make cinnamon rolls from this basic recipe and I will share that with you for a later post this week.  I hope you will be inspired to try this and I am thinking I will give it a try again sometime soon.

4 responses »

  1. I have made bread but never sourdough which is a favorite of mine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

