RSS Feed

Sourdough Cinnamon Rolls

On Wednesday, I shared my sourdough bread recipe that I have been using for about 20 years.  A friend shared the recipe with me when I told her I could not bake homemade bread.  She told me when she shared the recipe that I could not mess it up and she was correct.  She also mentioned that I could make cinnamon rolls from the recipe and I decided I wanted to try to do that.

For reference, if you missed my post on Wednesday, this is the sourdough recipe from Wednesday:

sourdough bread

To make the cinnamon rolls, you would make the starter, feed it and then mix the ingredients for the bread as listed above.

After mixing the bread and letting it rise overnight, knead it and roll it out on a lightly floured board.  Because of the elasticity of this bread you might have to knead it a little more than is listed above.

Spread 1/4 to 1/2 cup of melted margarine or butter on the rolled dough

Sprinkle 1/2 cup of brown sugar over the dough

Sprinkle cinnamon generously over the dough and I would guess that you would use a tablespoon of cinnamon

It is optional to sprinkle raisins or nuts over the mixture and I would guess about 1/2 cup of raisins or nuts.

Roll the dough tightly into a long roll.

You then have the option of cutting it into three portions for standard size loaf pans or into 18 portions for cinnamon rolls.  I have made both and this bread rises generously so you may even want to cut the cinnamon rolls into 24 portions so they will not be so large.

Bake in a 350 degree oven until lightly brown.  Rolls will bake in about 25 minutes and the cinnamon loaf around 35 minutes.

When you remove the bread from the oven, add a sugar glaze.  I use 1/4 cup of confectioners sugar and add milk, whisking it together until it is at a good spreading consistency.  Use a pastry brush and spread over the rolls or loaves while they are still warm.

I have made these rolls many times and a favorite memory I have is when I first started making them.  People would request that I make them some for Christmas and I promised lots of people that I would.  I started my baking and realized I had promised 12 dozen rolls.  I did make all of them as I had promised but I didn’t make cinnamon rolls again for a while.

The great think about using the starter is you can stagger the feeding of the starter because you are to do that between three and five days.  You will then have to jars of starter to work from on two different days.

After Memorial Day Weekend here in the states, I think I will begin my starter again and bake some bread.  Why don’t you join me and share some pictures of your baked bread?

Happy Friday Everyone!

Leave a Reply

