RSS Feed

Let’s Go Cruisin’ Makes me Crave Onion Rings and French Fries

This is an exciting week in the neighboring town of Newton, NC.  It is Old Soldiers Reunion Week.  This is the 124th anniversary of the Annual Soldiers Reunion celebration, the nation’s oldest continuing patriotic celebration not tied to a holiday.  The events for the week include a Cruisin Car Show that was this past Sunday night.  Thursday there will be a parade with veterans of wars including the world wars as honorary marshalls of the parade.  Here is a link to a local newspaper article about the celebration. http://www.hickoryrecord.com/news/article_dc1e0064-02be-11e3-b531-0019bb30f31a.html

On Sunday afternoon we went to the Car Show and Cruisin and had lots of fun.  It brought back memories of my teen years when the highlight of our weekend was to go cruising around Tom’s which was the local drive in restaurant.  It was officially known as Tom and Sarah’s but we had shortened it to Tom’s.  My favorite thing to eat was French fries or onion rings.  Even though I am not a big car person I do enjoy the car show and they have lots of cars of different makes and models including a surry, mack truck and motorcycles.  Here are pictures of some of my favorites.

A Package and My Favorite of All The Cars

A Packard and My Favorite of All The Cars

The Chevy's seemed to be the best looking cars of all of them

The Chevy’s seemed to be the best looking cars of all of them

This car reminds me of a family car we had when I was growing up

This car reminds me of a family car we had when I was growing up

At the end of the car show, the cars cruise through town in both directions just as they cruised around the court house in the 50’s and 60’s.  The following pictures were taken of the cars as they cruised by,  I especially enjoyed seeing the young children riding in the cars and enjoying themselves.

2013-08-11 18.22.19

2013-08-11 18.18.31

2013-08-11 18.14.35-3

2013-08-11 18.14.35-2

2013-08-11 18.14.35-1

2013-08-11 18.11.58-2

I decided to share recipes for onion rings and potatoes as they would absolutely be official foods of my teen years. These are from Betty Feezor’s Carolina Recipes Volume II.

oven french fries

onion rings

I realized as I sat on the street at the cruising, there was strong gasoline fumes.  My husband said it was because the cars cruising were built before catalytic converters were invented.  The good thing was the fumes kept the mosquitos away and there wasn’t a bad thing about the whole experience.  What a great event to bring back such happy memories.

Leave a Reply

