RSS Feed

A Chocolate Cake Is A Great Start For A New Week

Last week, I was baking a cake for a friend for her birthday.  Her friends at work will be baking a red velvet cake for her on her official birthday this Friday. The only thing she asked was for me not to bake a red velvet cake and wouldn’t you just know, I have a friend that loves all kinds of cake.   I went through my many recipe books and finally decided to make a yellow cake with chocolate frosting.  I continued to search through my cookbooks and could not find a recipe that I was really excited about.  Then I realized, I have a wonderful pound cake recipe that can be baked in layers. I was browsing through a Baker’s Chocolate and Coconut Favorites Cookbook and found the frosting recipe that includes sour cream and decided it would work well with the cake. I used almond flavoring for the cake and the frosting.  Here is a picture of the cake

cake 002

I shared the pound cake recipe on this blog on August 17 of 2011 but I have tweaked it  now by using the 350 degree oven for a pound cake, sheet cake or layer cake.  This recipe was given to me when I was taking a cake decorating class.  It is almost foolproof and is an easy cake to frost as it isn’t extremely delicate.

Pound Cake Recipe

Preheat Oven at 350 degrees

Mix together:   ½ cup Crisco, ½ cup margarine, 2 2/3 cups granulated sugar

Add:  5 eggs

one at a time, beating after each addition.  Beat on moderate to high speed.  Must have whitish appearance.

Sift together:  3 cups of flour

                     ½ teaspoon baking powder

                     pinch of salt.

and Set Aside

Reduce mixer speed to low or fold

Add:  flour mixture alternately with

one cup of milk

beginning and ending with flour

Add one Tablespoon of vanilla, lemon or almond extract

Bake at 350 degrees until the cake tests done in the center.

I think adding one tablespoon of pure extract flavoring is one thing that makes this cake taste so good.

The frosting recipe was easy to prepare but it seemed a little too sweet for my taste.  However, after frosting the cake and tasting the combination of the cake and the frosting, it turned out very tasty. Here is the recipe from the book and the only thing I did differently was to use almond flavoring instead of vanilla.

chocolate sour cream frosting

My friend was very pleased with her cake and I was happy to make friends with an old recipe that has proven to be a success so many times in the past.  If you are preparing for your Labor Day Holiday and need a tried and true cake recipe, this just might be the one. Happy Monday Everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!

cake 005

8 responses »

  1. I’m sure your friend appreciated your delicious sounding cake. Having a foolproof recipe is wonderful.

    Reply
  2. Yummy! Is there anything better than a piece of chocolate cake and a glass of cold milk!!!

    Reply
  3. Oh how I love cake!!! looks yummy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

