RSS Feed

Country Style Steak and Gravy – Just The Way We Like It

My Mother loved to cook and I think she was like most home cooks.  There was some things she prepared that was delicious and other things that were just average.  I do remember that she made good country style steak and gravy.  I grew up calling it cube steak and gravy.  For years I tried but I never made it to taste as good as my Mother’s.  A friend I worked with about 20 years ago told me how she made it and her process has worked for me ever since. In fact, I think the process she uses could be used for frying anything including chicken, as I fry my chicken in a similar way.

I made this for Sunday lunch and my biggest challenge was the fact that I would have to cook it on the stove top.  I gave my electric fry pan away about seven years ago and I can honestly say, I only miss it every now and then.  Making this steak was one of the times that I missed it.

asher and Eva  8.31 026

Here is the recipe:

one and one half pounds of cube steak

1/2 to 3/4 cups of flour

salt and pepper to season the steak

1/2 cup of cooking oil

For the gravy:

2 tablespoons of pan drippings

2 cups of water

2 tablespoons of flour

salt and pepper to season the gravy.

First of all, put the flour in a plate ( I use a paper plate) and cut the cube steak into serving portions.  Flour both sides of the steak generously.  Add salt and pepper to season the steak.

Put the cooking oil in a large frying pan.  Heat the oil on medium/high. ( My stove really heats up quickly and that is usually my biggest challenge with my stove so we just have to adjust the heat for the type of stove that we are using.)

Place the steak in the pan and brown on each side.  Turn the burner to low and cover the steak and let it cook for about 20 minutes or until tender when you pierce it with a fork. Increase the heat on the stove to medium/high and brown on each side to make crispy.  Remove the steak from the pan.

Now you are ready to make the gravy.

I have devised the recipe for my gravy as 2/2/2.  I always use to tablespoons of drippings, 2 tablespoons of flour and 2 cups of water.

Turn the burner off on the stove.  Scrape the drippings (I usually don’t scrape enough of the drippings but I asked my husband to do it for me and he did a much better job.  This made my gravy so dark.

I drained all of the fat out of the pan except for approximately 2 tablespoons.  I then added 2 tablespoons of flour and mixed well. I then added my water slowly to the mixture and blended it well. Then I turned my burner on to medium high and stirred constantly until it was the thickness and desired color. I then seasoned the gravy with salt and pepper to taste.

Pour gravy into a serving bowl and then add the steak for serving.

asher and Eva  8.31 025You may question some of this process and I admit it does seem a little unusual to crispy the steak and then add it back to the gravy mixture when it is served.  I don’t know why I do that but it is just the way our family likes it.

If you read my blog often, you know my husband is such a supporter of what I do.  It was funny when he saw the dark brown gravy that he exclaimed his surprise at how brown it was.  I caught on and admitted to him that it was a lot darker than any gravy I have made in the past. His daddy made the darkest gravy ever and I really think his secret must have been how he scraped those drippings.

Country Style Steak with gravy, creamed potatoes and a side of fried okra is a wonderful summertime Southern tradition.

4 responses »

  1. I love country style steak and gravy and your pictures made me so very hungry. The recipe sounds perfect.

    Reply
  2. This was one of my favorites that my Mother used to make as well and I can’t get it quite right either. Maybe it’s that little teaspoon of morherly magic!

    Reply
  3. That looks and sounds like the perfect “Sunday Dinner”. I do remember that was one of Mama’s best dishes. You know I don’t cook, but I have tried the steak and gravy a couple of times at K&W and it is pretty good – not as good as Mama’s – but still pretty good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

