RSS Feed

Apple Brownies – Really?

Today, I am sharing a recipe I made this week.  When I saw it, I thought it was a great way to use my apples from the Orchard.  My idea of a brownie is a cake square just oozing with chocolate.  This recipe is just oozing with the flavor of apples and the crunch of the walnuts.  I did use stevia for my sweetener instead of the sugar so my diabetic husband could enjoy them.

apple bread and tote 019

The only thing difficult about this recipe is peeling the apples.

apple brownies 2

The recipe is from The Best Kept Secret of Southern Cooks cookbook.  We enjoyed these so much and they would make a great addition to a bagged lunch for a child going to school or an adult that is off to work.

Happy Weekend Everyone!

6 responses »

  1. I would never have thought of using apples as a brownie ingredient! These sound really tasty. I have a lot of apples from the tree in the garden so I’ll definitely be making apple brownies with some of this year’s crop. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    Reply
  2. I love your apple cover pic! It makes me miss our annual trips to the Orchard! Out here it’s peaches that come ready in the Fall!

    Reply
  3. Splendid! What a marvelous looking bake! =D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

