RSS Feed

It Is Collard Green Season

This time of year is the perfect time to prepare Collard Greens.  I have always heard you never pick greens from the garden until after the first frost because the greens will be bitter.  That has happened here so the greens should be ready to harvest.  In the past I have purchased collards, washed, cut and cooked them from scratch.  However, I have discovered frozen collard greens and if I use them, we can have them more often.

My favorite frozen collard greens would have to be Pictsweet.  They are quick frozen and are of good quality.  I have started using a recipe on the back of the package when I prepare my greens.  The dish only requires only about 35 minutes including cooking time.  That is much less time consuming than when you make the greens from scratch.

collards 001

Here is the recipe from Pictsweet:

Spicy Greens

1 pkg Pictsweet chopped collard greens

1 can (14.5) low-sodium chicken broth

1 tsp minced garlic

1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper

1/2 tsp salt.

Pour frozen greens, chicken broth and garlic in Dutch oven.  Boil for 3 minutes.  Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 30 minutes.  Remove from heat and add crushed red pepper and salt.  Mix well and serve.

As you read the recipe, you will see there is no olive oil, bacon grease or cooking oil, in this recipe.  It is still very good and I have discovered chicken broth as being a great way to add more flavor to greens or dried bean.

Growing up I remember Grownups discussing greens and how they “just aren’t fit to eat without some meat grease.”  I am not sure my grandmother or mother would like this recipe.  When I eat these greens, I do not miss the greens of my youth.  I am happy that I am keeping a Southern tradition but maybe in a more acceptable way.

Happy Weekend Everyone.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

