RSS Feed

On This Thankfulness Thursday Broccoli Salad, Potato Salad or Deviled Eggs

I am thankful that I had a Grandmother that passed on to me an “attitude of gratitude”.  No matter what her circumstances were, she was always thankful for what she had.  During our recent economic crisis when my husband and I lost our full-time jobs, I learned to change my attitude to being thankful for what I had and not be resentful for what I had lost. I am also thankful for everyone that works so hard to prepare a Thanksgiving meal for their family, friends and the less fortunate on this special day.

Today I am sharing a broccoli salad recipe that is so tasty, my favorite potato salad recipe and my recipe for deviled eggs.  If you have a Southern Thanksgiving Menu, deviled eggs must be a part of it. The broccoli salad is a great substitution for a potato salad and you don’t have to peel potatoes.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad (Submitted to All Recipes by Cassandra Kennedy)

4 slices of bacon

1 head fresh broccoli, chopped  (you can use the stems as part of the broccoli that you chop)

3/4 cup sharp cheddar cheese

1/4 red onion chopped  (I used a white onion and it was good but maybe not as colorful)

2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

1 tablespoon sugar (I used Splenda instead)

1 teaspoon black pepper

1/2 teaspoon of salt ( when I was making this, I did not see a need for salt as you are including bacon in the recipe.  If I was making this again, I would not include salt)

1/3 cup mayonnaise

1/2 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

Place bacon in a large, deep dish skillet.  Cook over medium heat until evenly brown.  Drain, and crumble.

In a large bowl, combine broccoli, cheese, bacon and onion.

Prepare the dressing in a small bowl by whisking together the red wine vinegar, sugar, pepper, salt, mayonnaise and lemon juice.  Combine dressing with salad.  Cover and refrigerate until ready to use.

Serves 6

You could make this the day before and the flavors would blend together to make the salad even more delicious the next day.

Here is the link to my previous post that includes my potato salad and deviled egg recipes.

http://sodoesthatmeaniamsouthern.com/2011/11/23/potato-salad-and-deviled-eggs/

Today, I am also especially thankful for the readers of my blog.  I love your comments, thoughts and “Likes”.

4 responses »

  1. And thank you for sharing! I’m known in my family for making the best deviled eggs on the planet. Since I have no recipe, it’s hard to share. I would love to put mine up against yours. They are quite different.

    Reply
  2. I’ve been catching up on all your posts since returning home from our trip. I’m happy to see your broccoli salad…I haven’t had this in years. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

    Reply
    • I thought that was a great alternative to potato salad and isn’t is sooooo delicious? I loved your blog posts from your trip and really felt as if I was a part of your travels. As always, your pictures are so inspiring. If anyone wants to see Karen’s posts from her blog, here is a link to her website: backroadjournal.wordpress.com

      Reply

Leave a Reply

