Summertime and Atlantic Beach Pie

As tomorrow is the first official day of Summer, I wanted to write about something that would be a great option for any summertime event.  I was browsing through my Our State Magazine and saw this recipe for Atlantic Beach Pie in the May issue.  Atlantic Beach is on the coast of North Carolina and I have spent beach time there a few times.  It is a small community and would be great for a family trip.

The recipe I am sharing with you has a crust made of saltine crackers and I have never heard of this type of crust before.  The pie filling reminds me a lot of the key lime pie recipe that includes sweetened condensed milk.  I am including the entire article by Bill Smith because it has some great information about the pie. I am thankful for Bill Smith for preserving Southern food traditions.

 

atlantic beach pie

 

Just reading this article takes me back to those wonderful summer beach trips to Atlantic Beach.   I hope you create some wonderful summer memories starting now.  Happy summer everyone and  thanks for stopping by.

 

2 responses »

  1. This is your standard key lime pie recipe with out the saltines and salt. I just may try this.

    Reply
  2. That is the part of the recipe that really intrigued me.

    Reply

Leave a comment