RSS Feed

End Of The Summer Pickled Beets

If you are an educator or have children in school, the summer has probably already officially ended for you.  That can really make a difference in our priorities and activities for the upcoming fall season.  As I am now semi-retired, I think one of my favorite times of the year is September.  It is definitely a month of transition, however here in the foothills of North Carolina, many people plant fall gardens and grow an abundance of sweet potatoes and greens.  Over the next few days I want to share some recipes that are a good way to end the summer and start thinking about those beautiful fall days of October.

Today, I am featuring a recipe for pickled beets. I think you can either love beets or hate beets. I absolutely love pickled beets and I am especially happy when I acquire a jar of pickled beets canned by a home cook in our area. When I attend fall bazaars that is one of the things that I am searching for.  This recipe is from Dawn O’Brien’ Book, “North Carolina’s Historic Restaurants and their recipes.”

I visited Dillsboro years ago and ate at the Jarrett House.  I remember how much we enjoyed the food and the setting is lovely as it is also a bed and breakfast. Here is a link to their website:

http://www.jarretthouse.com/

 

jarrett house pickles

This recipe seems super easy and I have never eaten beets any other way than pickled.  I have heard horror stories of canning beets at home and having a ceiling the color of the beets because the steam from boiling the beets on the stove was the reddish color and stained the ceiling.  That was enough to deter me from attempting to pickle fresh beets and buying mine in a can.  I have made pickled beets in a similar way by purchasing a can of beets and draining them and adding a small amount of Splenda and Balsamic Vinegar.  I was very happy with the results.

I hope you have a great weekend and thanks for stopping by.

8 responses »

  1. My husband and I love pickled beets as well. When I’ve made them, I’ve used a little vinegar, olive oil and fresh herbs.

    Reply
  2. We are on the same page! We just harvested our beets and pickled a whole mess of them.

    Reply
  3. Noooo. Not the end of summer!!!

    Reply
  4. Don’t boil your beets. Wash them, trim off leaves and roots,and bake them unpeeled at 350 degrees until tender. When they cool a little, they peel beautifully. My pickle contains vinegar, splenda , a little salt, a cinnamon stick and a couple of star anise pods. The color of the baked beets is deep and rich.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

