RSS Feed

Raleigh NC – One More Time

On Monday I wrote about our recent road trip to Raleigh, North Carolina.  Today, I am sharing some more pictures from our visit.  I need to share the first one and get it out of my system.  This was a snapshot of the NC State flag on Hillsborough Street and that is adjoining the NC State campus.  I am part of a UNC Tarheel and Duke Blue Devil family so for me, an extremely loyal State fan, it made me feel as if a little part of me had returned to my home.

NC State Flag On Hillsborough Street

NC State Flag On Hillsborough Street

The picture below has nothing to do with Raleigh but I was amazed when we were snapping pictures on Hillsborough Street and saw this sign.  Matthews Construction is located here in our small town of Conover and we attend the same church as the Matthews family.  Just a small world sign I wanted to share with you.

Local Construction Company Sign

Local Construction Company Sign

The picture below is of the Bell Tower on the NC State Campus and we snapped the picture as we were leaving Raleigh.  You can see from the picture that the weather was exceptionally beautiful on the day of our visit.

Bell Tower On NC State Campus

Bell Tower On NC State Campus

The picture below is of the campus at State.

Photo Of NC State Campus Grounds

Photo Of NC State Campus Grounds

As we were leaving downtown, we walked over to the Govenor’s Mansion.  It is a stately old building and has such beautiful grounds.

The Govenor's Mansion

The Govenor’s Mansion

 

This is the entrance to the NC Museum of History located in downtown Raleigh.  I loved the Museum and it had so many wonderful exhibits of North Carolina that I have visited and many places I still yearn to visit.  I was especially happy to see interactive exhibits that would definitely interest young children.  I think the highlight of my visit was the exhibit about manufacturing in the South and the “Mill Hill” community.  As I was a part of that, I was really surprised to see that it was considered an integral part of the history of North Carolina.  I can imagine the surprise of my parents if they new the weaving room and card room of a mill was in this museum.

NC Museum Of History

NC Museum Of History

Outside the Museum are Agricultural exhibits.  I snapped this picture of the Muscadines and Scuppernongs as they are considered to be very native grapes of North Carolina.  I wanted to write a blog about them and include recipes.  However, I haven’t been able to find many recipes to feature.  Does you have one that you would like to share?

Information Sign Outside NC Museum of History

Information Sign Outside NC Museum of History

Inside the Museum is a section that could be a museum in itself and features all the sports greats of North Carolina.  Below is the jersey worn by David Thompson at NC State and information about him.  No, I don’t have a picture of anything that featured UNC Tar Heel great Michael Jordan but I will tell you that Michael Jordan was influenced by the play of David Thompson when he was growing up. Enough said.

David Thompson's NC State Jersey

David Thompson’s NC State Jersey

IMG_3062

The picture below is of one of the sport coats worn by Norm Sloan when he was coach at NC State.  They won a national championship in 1974.  It really stirred some memories for me of how big basketball was and is for the state of NC.

Norm Sloan's Plaid Jacket

Norm Sloan’s Plaid Jacket

Jim Valvano’s suit is in the museum and it was such an exciting time when they won the National Championship in 1983.  There are also video clips that you can watch in the museum and you better believe I watched the ending of the NC State/Houston game for the Championship in 1983.  It still brings tears to my eyes after all these years.

Jimmy V's Workout Suit

n Jimmy V’s Workout Suit

So, I hope you enjoyed this tour of one of my favorite places in the world.  I was super excited to visit and Mr. D said he could see my excitement and was glad he suggested this as my birthday road trip.  As far as I am concerned there is only one state and that would be NORTH CAROLINA.  Thanks for stopping by.

3 responses »

  1. Thanks for some lovely memories. When I was in first grade, muscadines grew in the woods by my school. My mother and I used to sneak over to pick them. That’s the only time I ever had them and I still remember how wonderful they were. And of course, who can forget Jimmy V?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

