RSS Feed

A Christmas Favorite – Chocolate Peppermint Brownies

Over the next few days, I plan to share some of my favorite flavors of the South during the Christmas Season.  I bet you have heard someone say, it just wouldn’t be Christmas if we didn’t have___________.  For my family, it would have to be my Mother’s chocolate pound cake. It is definitely a family favorite. I am sharing my Mother’s chocolate pound cake recipe from a previous post.

Chocolate Pound Cake

1/2 pound butter

1 stick margarine

2 and 3/4 cups sugar

5 eggs

3 cups plain flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

5 tablespoons cocoa

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

Cream butter, margarine and sugar.  Add eggs one at a time and beat well.

Sift remaining dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, cocoa and salt) three times.

Add vanilla to the milk.

Add sifted dry ingredients and milk to creamed batter, alternating drya nd liquid ingredients.  Begin and end with dry ingredients.

Pour  mixture into a greased and floured 10 inch tube pan and bake in a 325 degree oven for one and one half hours or until the cake is done.  ( Do Not Overbake)

Cool and Frost.

Icing

6 tablespoons butter or margarine

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 box or one pound of confectioners sugar

5 tablespoons cocoa

2 teaspoons vanilla

6 tablespoons milk

Cream butter and salt.  Add confectioners’ sugar and cocoa.  Add vanilla and enough milk to make icing spreading consistency.  After completely blended and smooth, frost cooled cake.

I am also sharing a recipe for fudgy peppermint brownies. I think the flavor of chocolate combined with peppermint is a favorite at Christmastime everywhere. I love the idea of using a round cutter for the brownies and nibbling on the scraps.

peppermint brownies

Don’t you think these would be a great gift for a friend or neighbor? This recipe is from My Christmas with Southern Living 2005 edition cookbook.  It was the Southern Living 25th Anniversary Edition and one of my favorites of the season.

I will say that a Southern cooks take great pride in baking pound cakes and adding a chocolate to the recipe is just added deliciousness.  Chocolate and peppermint are two of my favorite Christmas flavors. Tomorrow, I will share another favorite Christmas flavor.  Thanks for stopping by.

 

Leave a Reply

