RSS Feed

Sharing The Joy Of Cooking and And A Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe

Over the last few days I have read posts from fellow bloggers and I have been impressed with their blog goals for the New Year.  I have been thinking of my blog goals for this year and I hope I can convey to you the joy and passion I have for cooking.  When I am having a bad day and things are spiraling out of control, I can go into my kitchen and prepare something from past experience or from a recipe.  When it turns out the way I intended, I feel a sense of accomplishment and realize everything isn’t “messed up.” I can see over the years how the skills of cooking has evolved and I am so happy to see chefs on TV and so many other resources for cooking that our parents never had.

I love to watch the HGTV show House Hunters and I sometimes chuckle to myself when I see someone require a “gourmet kitchen.”  I wonder if they think the gourmet kitchen will make them a “gourmet.” I remember all the meals my Mother and Grandmother prepared with the very basic cooking equipment in very small kitchens.  There were so many delicious meals prepared and I don’t think they ever thought about a gourmet kitchen.  They just loved to cook for their family and friends. You don’t have to be a gourmet to make one or two dishes that are your signature dishes and people look forward to enjoying.

I have another goal to share different cultures of the South with you during the year.  Because I live in North Carolina, I have shared this part of the Southern culture with you but there are so many other wonderful parts of the South for us to explore together.

The recipe I am sharing with you today is a recipe I have adapted from my Grandmother and Mother.  They would make homemade vegetable soup in the summer time with fresh tomatoes.  Imagine eating soup in the summer when you didn’t have air conditioning in your home.  As I remember this, I only remember how good that vegetable soup was and don’t remember the heat at all.  The basic soup was the cabbage, potatoes, and tomatoes and I revised it to make it a little more hardy.  I do make the basic soup sometimes but not in the summer.

country vegetable soupAs far as a personal goal for the year, I do plan to make chicken and dumplings.  I have said this before but haven’t ever done it.  This year and sometime this winter actually I do plan to give it a try.

I hope you will continue to read my blog as I share my love for cooking and the South and the traditions that make it so special. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

