RSS Feed

A Southern Easter Tradition – Deviled Eggs

Easter and eggs go together no matter where you are.  However, in the South you must include deviled eggs in your Easter meal.  I don’t really know how I learned to make deviled eggs.  I think I just made up my recipe by trial and error.  I like adding vinegar to my eggs instead of pickle juice as it seems to be just a little more mellow and blends well with the other ingredients.  This recipe is one that I have used every year and I am happy to share it with you again this year.

Deviled Eggs

9 Hard Boiled Eggs – Most devil egg plates come with a space for 12 halves of eggs so I boil extra just in case I can’t get one of my eggs to peel correctly

1 and 1/2 teaspoons of vinegar

1 tablespoon mustard

2 to 3 tablespoons of mayo

2 or three tablespoons of sour cream

1 Tablespoon of Durkees

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1/4 teaspoon of pepper

Cook, cool and peel hard-boiled eggs.  Cut in half lengthwise and scoop out the yolk (yellow) of the egg.  Mix the mashed yellow of the egg with the above ingredients and put them back in the white reserved egg halves. If you are wanting a creamier filling, add more mayonnaise.

I usually use a fork to stuff the yellow back into the white of the egg.  I then smooth it with a knife.

The deviled eggs are tastier if you chill them in the fridge for four to eight hours before serving.

Below is the process I use for hard-boiled eggs and it works well for me.  I have found through experience that it is difficult to peel a fresh egg.

Place eggs in pan and cover with cold water.

Bring water to a rolling boil; immediately turn off heat.  (don’t let the eggs continue to boil and I usually set them off the hot burner)

Let eggs stand in hot water for 14 minutes if small or 17 minutes if extra large

drain eggs and cool in ice water.  I have learned to peel the eggs quickly when they are cool.  If you start at the rounded top of the egg and break that membrane the eggs will peel smoothly.  If you are having difficulty, make a small break in the membrane and continue to dip them in the cooled water.

This year Mr. D and I will not have family visiting so we will be having a very non-traditional meal.  Now can you just imagine what Mr. D said he wanted for Easter?  If you said steak you are exactly right.  So we will be grilling steak for Easter and the great thing about that is he will be preparing the steak.  Even though that is non-traditional, I can promise you we will have deviled eggs as our appetizer.

I hope you have a Happy and Blessed Easter and thanks for stopping by.

3 responses »

  1. My devilled eggs are definitely different from yours – I base mine on how my Mother made hers. But the family thinks they are the best ever; since I have no recipe, it’s been hard to teach my grown nieces how to make them. They say they’re always missing something, which they’ve decided is just my ‘Amy magic’.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

