RSS Feed

Sugar Free Lemon or Lime Dessert

Last weekend I made my friend Regina’s lemon dessert. It can be made with Splenda and sugar free Jello so it is a great choice for Mr. D.  As he was eating the lemon dessert, he looked at me and said, “If this was a little more tart, it would be close to key lime pie.  He was exactly right and that gave me an idea that if I would substitute lime jello and use limes instead of the lemon, that might work.  Key lime pie has always been a favorite of Mr. D and when he was diagnosed as a type II diabetic that was something he gave up.  I knew he liked it so much that I wouldn’t even eat it in front of him.  I have tried many different times and many different ways to make a key lime type dessert for him and it just wasn’t the same. Here is the original recipe that I shared on my blog a couple of years ago:

Regina’s Lemon Dessert

  • 1 1/2 cups of crushed pretzels
    1/2 cup of butter
    1/4 cup of sugar
    Combine and press into a 9×13 pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. Cool completely.
  • Filling:
    1 package of lemon Jello (I used sugar free)
    1/2 c. water
    1 lemon
    8 oz of cream cheese, softened
    1 (8oz) container of Cool Whip
    3 cups of berries or other fresh fruit.

Sprinkle Jello over water in a mixing bowl. Microwave for 1 minute on High. Stir to dissolve gelatin. Zest the lemon and reserve. Add the juice of the lemon to the gelatin. In another bowl, combine the zest and the cream cheese. Gradually beat in gelatin mixture until smooth. Fold in Cool Whip. Spread over the crust and refrigerate 30 minutes. Top with fresh fruit

Over the past weekend, I prepared the dessert with lime jello and limes and it turned out very well.  I really think the next time I make it I will probably use three limes and that will certainly make it a little more tart.

IMG_3382

Sugar Free Lime Dessert

  • 1 1/2 cups of crushed pretzels
    1/2 cup of butter melted
    1/4 cup of sugar or 2 tablespoons of baking Splenda
    Combine and press into a 9×13 pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. Cool completely.
  • Filling:
    1 package of Lime Jello (I used sugar free)
    1/2 c. water
    2 limes
    8 oz of cream cheese, softened
    1 (8oz) container of Cool Whip
    Sprinkle Jello over water in a mixing bowl. Microwave for 1 minute on High. Stir to dissolve gelatin. Zest the limes and reserve. Add the juice of the limes to the gelatin. In another bowl, combine the zest and the cream cheese. Gradually beat in gelatin mixture until smooth. Fold in Cool Whip. Spread over the crust and refrigerate 30 minutes. 

Regina’s lemon dessert is very refreshing and I think the saltiness of the pretzels add such a wonderful contrast to the lemon or lime filling.  This recipe is very easy to make and I think it is a great choice for the warm days of summer that will arrive soon.

Thanks for stopping by.

6 responses »

  1. Key lime pie is one of my absolute favorites too. It’s cool and gray and rainy here with a slow spring, making me homesick for North Carolina, so I’m glad to see your post this morning! ❤

    Reply
  2. I adore Key Lime! The tartness and sweetness of it! Looks so delicious!

    Reply
  3. I love lime and also pretzels so I will have to try them together. Sounds refreshing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

