RSS Feed

Our Yard In Bloom

Mr. D and I are really lazy gardeners.  At one time we would work really hard to plant annuals and perennials in the yard but we have simplified our lives a little.  I have gone to container gardening and this year I have even simplified that a little.  A couple of years ago we visited a winery and they had groupings of smaller pots with one individual plant in each pot.  When I visited the local garden shop for my plants, I decided to try that this year. Here is a picture of my petunias and I always enjoy having them in my yard every summer.

Petunias - A great choice for the hot humid South

Petunias – A great choice for the hot humid South

The basket of begonias below is on the table in our sun porch.  I haven’t bought begonias in years but these really appealed to me this year.

Begonia in three individual pots that I placed in our sunroom

Begonia in three individual pots that I placed in our sunroom

Another thing we have really started to enjoy is flowering shrubs.  We have a row of Rose of Sharon that borders one side of our house.  They give color and is very low maintenance. Here is a picture of my rhododendron and I know it is very small but it was blocked by an overgrown bush and  this year it is getting sun.  I am so pleased with the color and look forward to it finally growing in my front yard flower bed.

IMG_3417

 

In the fall we started working on a project to redo the main flower bed in our front yard.  When we moved into the house there were four large overgrown holly bushes there and some type of scraggly plant in front of them.  No matter what we did, it just did not look good. During the fall we removed the large holly bushes and planted some new shrubs.  The bushes in the back are Daruma Loropetalum and grow very slowly.  The coral colored plants are drift roses.

IMG_3423

I especially love my bird house and that was a Christmas gift from Mr. D this year.  The bird bath has been a fixture for a very long time.  Here is how the front of the house looked before. Even though it will take some time for these shrubs to fill in, we are very pleased with the new look of this flower bed.

Dale's 60th Birthday 008

I love how pretty a Southern yard can look in May and June.  It seems as if the flowers just pop.  Below are some more pictures that I wanted to share.

closeup of the bird bath and flowers in the front yard flower bed.

closeup of the bird bath and flowers in the front yard flower bed.

Sweet Potato Plant  - One of my new favorites

Sweet Potato Plant – One of my new favorites

A knockout rose in my side yard

A knockout rose in my side yard

My chives have really grown in the past few weeks

My chives have really grown in the past few weeks

A foxglove plant that followed me home from Home Depot.  It is definitely a favorite

A foxglove plant that followed me home from Home Depot. It is definitely a favorite

Another rose bush that was in our yard when we bought the house several years ago

Another rose bush that was in our yard when we bought the house several years ago

My hibiscus plant is coming up in my front yard

My hibiscus plant is coming up in my front yard

This was in my yard when we purchased the house

This was in my yard when we purchased the house

Hostas beside our walkway

Hostas beside our walkway

The weather here has been extremely warm lately and I haven’t had any desire to work outside. I love summertime but it is a learning experience to understand which plants thrive in our Southern humid Summers.  Thanks for stopping by.

4 responses »

  1. Lovely. We are having so much rain in Texas that it looks like a tropical jungle around our house at the present! But it is nice after so many years of drought. Your yard is looking lovely and all your plants look so happy!

    Reply
  2. Your yard/flowers are so pretty. I am a container gardener (the little bit that I do) and it does still provide some color and is easier to care for. All of your flowers are so pretty.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

