RSS Feed

Beale Street, Blues and Barbecue

As we were planning our trip to Memphis, I knew I would have to experience Memphis barbecue.  I did not realize how prevalent it would be.  We stayed near downtown Memphis and there was a TOPS barbecue almost within walking distance of our hotel.  We arrived on Saturday and had a late lunch on Beale Street at the Rum Boogie Cafe.  Here is a picture of my barbecue sandwich. The barbecue is delicious and the sauce is tomato based but has a different taste from the tomato based North Carolina barbecue sauce. Could it be bourbon based, I actually think so.  It also seemed as if my barbecue had a smokier flavor than I am accustomed to in North Carolina.

Memphis Barbecue

Memphis Barbecue

On Sunday we took a tour with Blues City Tours and I would recommend them if you visit Memphis. We started the day visiting downtown Memphis including St. Jude’s, Sun Records, the Welcome Center, the Peabody Ducks and the Victorian homes of downtown.  We had lunch at B.B. King’s Blues Club on Beale Street.  We were entertained by a blues band as we ate some awesome barbecue.  We finished the day with a three hour tour of Graceland.

View of Rum Boogie Cafe on corner at Beale Street

View of Rum Boogie Cafe on corner at Beale Street

20150802_131608

B.B. Kings Blue Club – Beale Street – Memphis

The view below of Beale Street includes A. Schwab, a dry goods store established in 1876.  We enjoyed shopping in the store.

Street View - Beale Street

Street View – Beale Street

Jerry Lee Lewis Club on Beale Street

Jerry Lee Lewis Cafe on Beale Street

Statue of B.B. King at the Welcome Center in downtown Memphis

Statue of B.B. King at the Welcome Center in downtown Memphis

I have to admit my heart would do a little flip when the tour guide would say that Memphis barbecue is the best in the world.  I have eaten barbecue in North Carolina, Texas and Memphis.  Honestly, I can say that I loved all of it.  Even though it is prepared differently, I think there are enough barbecue lovers in this country to enjoy every method used to prepare it.

It was a dream come true to go to Memphis and to be lucky enough to eat barbecue not once but twice on Beale Street.  I can honestly say that I also have a new appreciation for the Blues.  It was wonderful.

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

