Apple Cranberry Crisp – A Fall Favorite

Today, I am sharing one of my favorite fall recipes that I posted when I starting writing this blog over four years ago.  This apple crisp can be served as a side dish or dessert. This recipe is good for diabetics as it has oatmeal and fruit in it.  It is delicious warm or cold and will make 10 servings.

Apple Cranberry Crisp

FRUIT MIXTURE INGREDIENTS:

5 cups sliced peeled apples

2 cups fresh or frozen cranberries  ( I use the dried Cranberries)

3/4 cup of sugar or equivalent amount of sugar substitute

2 tablespoons of all -purpose flour

TOPPING:

2/3 cup all purpose flour

1 cup quick-cooking oats

3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar (I equally divide the brown sugar with Splenda to make the total amount of 3/4 cup of brown sugar instead of using 3/4 cup of brown sugar and it works out fine) The Splenda Brown Sugar substitute would be a great option too.

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 cup margarine or butter, cut into pieces

Preparation Directions:

1. Heat oven to 375 degrees.  In large bowl, combine all fruit mixture ingredients; mix well.  Spread evenly in ungreased 12 x 8 inch (2 quart) glass baking dish.

2.  Lightly spoon 1/3 cup flour into measuring cup; level off.  In another medium bowl, combine 1/3 cup flour, oats, brown sugar and cinnamon;  mix well.  Cut in margarine until mixture resembles fine crumbs.  Spoon over fruit mixture.  For the step of cutting the margarine into the other ingredients, I use my food processor on pulse and it comes out smoother and is a lot easier.

3.  Bake at 375 degrees for 35 to 40 minutes or until deep golden brown and bubbly.  Serve with ice cream or whipped cream.

I clipped this recipe from a magazine or newsletter and have made it many different times. One of my favorite memories of preparing this is on a cold rainy Sunday afternoon several years ago. I mentioned to Mr. D that I would love to make this apple crisp but I hated peeling the apples.  He quickly volunteered to peel the apples and we had a wonderful warm dessert on a rainy day.  I am learning to always ask for help.

I do believe some recipes are just worth repeating.  Thanks for stopping by.

4 responses »

  1. Yum! I still make my Mom’s Apple Crisp once in a while. But when I do, I eat almost the entire thing. So, not very often.

    Reply

Leave a comment