RSS Feed

Country Style Vegetable Soup

Here in the foothills of North Carolina, we experienced a drought this Summer.  Over the past few weeks we have experienced lots of rain.  This is the third day of rain this week and the thermometer is hovering around 55 degrees.  That always makes me think of making soup. The first memory I have of homemade soup is this recipe I am sharing with you today.

My Grandmother and Mother made their homemade soup this way.  As I am the only existing cook in our family, I am very happy to share this recipe with you so it will be shared with future generations.  I have suggestions beside some of the ingredients.  When my Mother and Grandmother made this soup they did not include meat.  Actually, they would make it in the summertime and we would eat it as a meal.  Just remember we lived in homes that were not air conditioned.  No one complained because it was so good.

Southern Style Country Vegetable Soup

1 lb of hamburger or lean stew meat  (if desired)  this is my variation to the recipe even though I have made it without the meat and it was good

1 large can of crushed tomatoes (this is my variation on the recipe as my Mother and Grandmother would used home grown tomatoes or canned whole tomatoes)

1 16 oz can green beans, undrained

1 16 oz can whole kernel corn, undrained

1 16 oz can lima beans, undrained

3 medium size potatoes, peeled and cut into small pieces  (about 1 and 1/2 pounds)

1/4 head cabbage, cut into small pieces

2 cups water

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

1 teaspoon chili powder

1 tsp. cajun seasoning.

Brown hamburger and drain.  (If using stew beef, brown slightly in dutch oven and remove from dutch oven.  Add cabbage and potatoes with the two cups of water to the dutch oven and cook until tender.  Add all other ingredients including browned ground beef or stew beef and simmer for an hour.  Makes approximately 8 to 12 servings.

This recipe could be adapted to a crockpot after all the ingredients are added.

I have made chili but I have not made any homemade soup during this fall season.  However, I do plan to make some soon and I think I will try french onion soup as I have never made it.  However, this country vegetable soup is my all time favorite.  I think it is because it stirs wonderful memories of my Mother and Granny working so hard in their hot kitchens to prepare it.

Thanks for stopping by.

2 responses »

  1. We share so many of the same memories and recipes. This one was on the table at least once a week during my childhood. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

