RSS Feed

Calabash Hushpuppies

Over the past weekend Mr. D and I traveled to Little River, South Carolina for his annual deep-sea fishing adventure.  Little River is just several miles away from North Myrtle Beach.  While Mr. D was fishing I spent the day on the beach of course and shopping.  The most exciting part of the day was Mr. D’s catch.  Last year he did not catch a fish on his deep-sea adventure so I was hoping and praying this year would be different.  I was very happy to see his catch when he returned.  Here is a picture of him with his biggest catch and this is a Mahi Mahi and the yield of fillets was six pounds. Doesn’t his smile tell it all?

IMG_4243

After returning we had a very late meal in Calabash, NC.  Calabash is known for its many seafood restaurants and the wonderful fresh seafood that is served there. As we were approaching closing time for the restaurants, we arrived at Beck’s first and knew from past experience it would be a good choice.  As I was absolutely starving, I think the hush puppies were the best I have ever eaten.  They did have a sweet taste to them and I will say that here in the foothills our hush puppies have a more savory taste and would be more likely to include onion.

IMG_4244

After arriving home all I could think about was those wonderful hush puppies.  I think you can see from the picture that they were fried to perfection and not greasy at all.  I decided to research my cookbooks and find a recipe similar.  Well, how could I be so lucky but I went to my James Villas cookbook the Glory of Southern Cooking and there was a recipe for Calabash hush puppies.  I am so glad I am able to share it with you.

hushpuooies

As I look over this post, I am just amazed that I remembered to take the picture of the hush puppies.  Our meal was so good and I had fried flounder. It was fresh and had a light crispy crust and was not greasy.  I hadn’t visited Calabash and many years but I wasn’t disappointed with my meal at all.

Of course, we had fish when we came home and look forward to enjoying more of Mr. D’s catch soon.  Thanks for stopping by.

 

4 responses »

  1. Yummy! I have the hardest time describing the difference between our Southern “calabash” style seafood and others to my Yankee friends.

    Reply
  2. Fried flounder and hushpuppies…it doesn’t get much better than that. I can’t wait to try this recipe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

