RSS Feed

Easy as Pie – Chocolate or Pineapple

I was just wondering today, where are those lazy hazy days of summer?  Then I realized it isn’t really summer until the 20th of June and that made me realize I am getting a little ahead of myself.  May has been a busy month for us but we have been busy with fun things and I am thankful for that.  As I was thinking of lazy summer days, I thought of these easy pies.  They have been summertime favorites for our family for at least 20 years.  They are tasty and super easy to make.

I especially like the chocolate pie as I can use sugar-free pie filling and prepare it for Mr. D.  It is definitely one of his favorites.

Chocolate Cream Cheese Pie

1 package (8 oz) cream cheese, softened

2 and 1/2 cups milk

1 large 6 3/4 oz regular Jello Instant pudding & pie filling (chocolate)  or 2 small package of sugar-free instant chocolate Jello pudding & pie filling

1 baked pie shell or graham cracker crust pie shell

Beat cream cheese until very soft.  Gradually add 1/2 cup of milk and blend until smooth.  Add remaining milk and pie filling mix.  Beat at lowest speed of electric mixer until blended – about 1 minutes.  Pour at once into prepared shell.  Chill at least 3 hours.  Garnish with cool whip and chocolate shavings if desired.

I love pineapple and the pineapple sour cream pie is tart and refreshing on a hot summer day.  It is super easy to make too.  This would have to be one of my favorites and I believe you could substitute two small packages of Jell-0 Instant pudding for the regular vanilla filling.

pineapple pie

I love to cook but there are days I just want to make something simple and easy.  I think many of us feel that way and I love reading other blogs when people will talk about days where they prepared something easy and didn’t make their own pie crust.  I enjoy reading Frugal Hausfrau.com and when I read her post about lemonade pie it triggered these pie memories for me. Lemonade Pie has been a favorite in the South for quite some time. Here is a link to that post and I think you will enjoy it. https://frugalhausfrau.com/?s=lemonade+pie

I wish for you many lazy, hazy, crazy days of summer and thanks for stopping by.

2 responses »

  1. Both of your pie recipes sound perfect for a special treat after enjoying a summertime meal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

