You’ve Got To Know When to Hold ’em – Know When To Fold ’em

I was trying to make a decision one day and the words of Kenny Rogers song from the Gambler came to mind.  I think the words are so true when we are making decisions.

You’ve got to know when to hold ’em
Know when to fold ’em
Know when to walk away
And know when to run
You never count your money
When you’re sittin’ at the table
There’ll be time enough for countin’
When the dealin’s done

On June 13, 2011 I wrote my first post on this blog.  I had no idea at the time how long I would write a blog or if one single person would ever read my posts.  So in almost six years I have shared my southern experiences with you.  The purpose of this blog for me when I began to write it was to share southern food and recipes.  I also wanted to make contact with people all over the US as I had just lost my full-time recruiting job and missed that contact. I have made the decision to make this my final post.

I have enjoyed sharing my food experiences with you. I hope somewhere along the way you will keep one or two of my recipes so that Southern food will continue to be experienced not only in the South but everywhere. I have enjoyed sharing my trips to southern places and hope you have gotten a glimpse of the beautiful South.

Over the last few months I haven’t been inspired to write and just came to the realization that it was time to stop.  As I am approaching the age of 70 in the fall of this year, I am trying to simplify my life a little and streamline my activities. I do plan to retire from my part-time job but trust me I have a project closet of things I want to do, so I don’t think I will be bored any time soon.

I have established relationships with some blog buddies and I will continue to read your blogs.  I appreciate all the wonderful things I have learned from you.

This was a difficult decision for me to make but I realized it was time to fold’em and walk away.  I believe our life journey includes seasons that include experiences that will last for just that period of time or may be for a lifetime.  I know this blogging experience will be something that I will remember for the rest of my life.

Thanks for reading my blog posts and I hope you have enjoyed the Southern experiences that have come from my heart.

So Does That Mean I Am Southern because I love Southern places, Southern food and Southerners (whether born and bred or transplants)?  I certainly hope so.

Love you all and May God Bless You.  Thanks for stopping by.

 

 

 

6 responses »

  1. I know just exactly how you feel Southern (funny all these years and I never knew your name) as I’ve thought about stopping my blog as well. It is very hard to write, answer comments and visit other peoples blogs while still enjoying everyday life. My blog will be six years old the end of this month but I’ve decided to continue for a while longer. I’ve enjoyed your posts even when I haven’t had the time to comment on them. Being from Texas originally, I grew up enjoying southern food and you posts have brought back lots of memories. Enjoy your retirement…you will be in my thoughts.

    Reply
  2. Karen: Thanks for your kind words. I am glad you enjoyed my blog and I have always appreciated your responses. I will continue to read your blog and I do enjoy all of your posts. I look forward to staying in touch. Dianne

    Reply
  3. I’ve been uninspired myself, SSS, but have picked up and decided to go forward. I had been missing you, and I hope you will stay in touch. And yes, your recipes will definitely stay in my kitchen and my heart. Your Southern Soul Sister.

    Reply
  4. I know we started at about the same time. I did delete some of my very early attempts at writing recipes. I will be 70 next summer. I plan to continue because I don’t do this on a regular basis. I only work on this when I have time.

    I have enjoyed your recipes and made some of them. I will miss you.

    Reply

Leave a comment